This first edition of the Anti-Corruption Debate Competition for post-secondary/tertiary education institutions organised by the Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) saw the participation of 54 students from 12 different institutions. The Competition which was launched in August 2016 culminated in November 2016 with the prize giving ceremony.

Messrs Khalil Beebeejaun and Dooshan Paddia, students of the Aberystwyth University, Mauritius Branch Campus, were the winning team.  They intervened on the theme “The fight against corruption is the sole responsibility of the government”.

Miss Drishti Mohabeer from Middlesex University, Mauritius Branch, received the Best Speaker Award.

The other prize winners were:

  • 1st Runner Up: Miss Chitra Gomanee and Miss Peyousha Gomanee

University of Mauritius

  • 3rd Prize: Mr Omwesiga Dagan and Miss Zaynab Foondun

Middlesex University, Mauritius Branch

  • 4th Prize: Miss Drishti Mohabeer and Mr Shravan Tarachand

Middlesex University, Mauritius Branch

The Anti-Corruption Debate Competition had three objectives.  Firstly, to offer a platform for participants to research and reflect on corruption and voice out their views and concerns on the best means of eliminating it.  Secondly, it was an opportunity for students to improve their debating and public speaking skills which will be an asset in developing their professional career. Thirdly, to reinforce ethical values and integrity among the students to take ownership of anti-corruption initiatives